Visit to GunSmoke in Denver Colorado. The shop from American Guns TV program

gunout
Recently, I was in Denver Colorado for a week, and I traveled to the gunstore Gunsmoke. Gunsmoke was featured in two seasons of the show American Guns on the Discovery Channel. It was unfortunately canceled by Discover in the wake of the Newtown Shootings.

The store is located in Wheat Ridge, a suburb of Denver on a busy secondary road.
The retail store is relatively small. They have two large glass counters filled with guns. Guns on the walls, and a room filled with collectable guns.  The selection was good. The prices were good. One thing they did not carry was Ar-15s or gunparts.  The gunsmiths sections are located in the basement and other parts of the building that were off limits to the public.  They also had tons of Gunsmoke Labled items for tourists who were fans of the TV show.  I bought a hat for myself and a Gunsmoke Teeshirt and Mouse pad for my son.

gunsinside copy

Inside

canon

Cannon they built during one of the American Gun Episodes

All the people I met at Gunsmoke were very friendly and helpful. At first, the only person I recognized from the American Guns show was Rich Wyatt — Founder/Owner, Firearms Instructor. He is amazingly tall around 6′ 6″ and literately stands above the crowd.

Unlike other people on TV, I have met, Rich was very friendly and would pose for photos with anyone and also autograph anything.  I bought a American Gun’s mouse pad and he autographed it for son.  He later posed for a picture with me.  And then he and several of the gunsmiths from the show, actually recorded a Merry Christmas Video message for my son, who loves the program. Actually calling my son my name in the video.

I met and hung out with Brian Meidal – Head Gunsmith and Gary — Gunsmith and Builder.During the course of the two episodes, the TV show made it seem like another gunsmith Scott was the biggest jerk in the universe. Brian told me that the TV show was not completey real. The show played up tension between Scott and the other gunsmiths. In fact many of the builds portrayed in the show, were not really for customers.  They had customers come in and ask for a rifle to be built or customized and many times for the build that was to be featured during that week. Also the pricing for the builds were made up and ad-libed, so money was not really exchanged for some of the builds. And Gunsmoke kept the result of the build. There was a cannon that they supposed build for a customer, in the corner of the showroom.

They were still open when I was there, but they have had some issues recently. There was a breakin where guns where stolen. And owner Rich and GunSmoke were audited recently by the IRS, It seems that Rich and GunSmoke had not paid taxes for some time.   And they always flashed huge sums of cash on the TV show when they were buying guns.  Whoops. Rich and Guns were really nice people, and I wish them luck with the IRS.

newwho

Since I am an semi-international Man of Mystery, I have blocked my face in the above photo.

Freddy

Leave a Reply

