Building the Semi-Automatic UZI -Part 6 of 6 Test firing the UZI

uz12.

See parts 1-5 for instructions to source the parts and built your own Fully Legal semi-automatic UZI carbine I was delayed almost two weeks because of bad weather and a one week business trip, before I could take my new fun toy to the outdoor range and test it.

uzi-1

Above of pictures taken during the first firing of the finished Semi Automatic Uzi Carbine at the local gun range.

So my son and I took the completed UZI to the local gun range and we finally got to see if it would work. The UZI takes a little while to get used to, because of the grip safety.  This is the only gun I own that has a grip safety. So you have to push in the grip safety completely while you pull the trigger or nothing will happen.

I loaded the magazine, engaged the safety and the gun fired perfectly. This video below is a video of the actual first time, the gun has been fired.

There are 5 posts under the category Building the Uzi that explain where to get the receiver and parts and how to put them together. It has been a fun build and it did not take much skill other than to figure out how the parts went together.  I am completely happy with the build and I might even do it again and build a UZI pistol next time.

If you build yourself one from these directions, let me know if I missed anything.

Thanks and enjoy  Freddy

2 thoughts on “Building the Semi-Automatic UZI -Part 6 of 6 Test firing the UZI

  1. So is there any price savings for building this yourself? How much did you spend on the components vs. buying one already completed?

    • Century Arms has been selling their UC-9 Centurion 9mm Uzi Sub-Machine gun Style Rifle w/ Folding Stock. By CAI for a list price of $699. You usually hear of quality issues with CAI products. They make some many of them, defects slip through the cracks. They are also using a much cheaper receiver and bolt. I think the McKay receiver and Bolt are the best available products of this type. I spent $799. I could have saved $65 if I knew how to weld the pistol stick modification. I bought a second one with modification already done. and I used all IME parts except for the barrel and the receiver/bolt. I think i ended up with a high quality end product then buying one of the new ones. Plus, I really know the insides of the gun very well now if case, i ever have to fix it. The Action Arms Uzi’s that use all IME parts with a action arms receiver, go for over a $1000 around here. I have seen prices between $1200 to $1800.The ones at the high end having over 10 magazines a hard case.

Leave a Reply

