Travel Story: ICELAND ROCKS AND DENMARK ROLLS?

shapeimage_1

Tourism Sign inside the Reykjavik Airport

Recently this blog has had a lot of posts about guns and politics.  I am in Denmark this week, so, we will have some travel stories as well.

Rather then Complaining about something, I am reporting on my trip to Denmark with a layover  at the Iceland Airport.

IMG_0745

ICELANDAIR turned to be a pretty decent airline.  AC power at every seat. Touchscreen entertainment systems with USB ports to power your devices were also at every seat.  I would have loved to get out the Air Port in Reykjavik Iceland to explore Iceland, but it was not to be this time.

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 5.55.46 PM

sunrise at the airport in Iceland

I arrived at 6am to see sunrise at the Reykjavik  airport.  Iceland is 4 hours ahead of Boston time where I left the US.

After hanging around and looking in the shops for two hours, it was on to Denmark where i arrived at 1pm local , which is 6 hours ahead of Boston time.

I don’t usually exchange money when I travel overseas, I found the cheapest, easiest way to get local cash is through a ATM.  Usually any bank fees are lower then the Money Exchangers in airports, plus you get a better exchange.  Always have an idea of the exchange rate though.
I really had no idea of how much money, I was getting out of the ATM in Danish Kroners.
I ended up taking 600 Kroner, which I later found out was $120  US dollars.  Not knowing the exchange rate, could lead one to accidentally empty their bank account back home, if you take out way to much due to Exchange Rate confusion.  I have been here one day now, and I have not spent any cash.  I might end up spending the $600 DK I have on shopping at the airport on the way home.

Driving is on the right hand side of the Road, just like back at home, so driving here is less of an adventure then the UK.(Where they drive on the wrong side of the road).  Following the GPS, I got to the training center by 2:30 and spent a few hours setting up the class.

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 5.55.55 PM
The local hosts, booked my hotel and I am staying at the Farum Point Sports and Conference Center.  Which basically is a huge Soccer, Event Stadium and home of one of the Denmark Soccer teams..  Here is the view outside my room window, and a view from inside the stadium.
This place is pretty dead on a Monday night.  I am sure this place will be jammed pack when there is a game.

I ate dinner at the cafe instead the hotel last night. The food was strange but good.

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 5.55.32 PM

Steak Kabobs, Break really big hot dogs.  Ribs, and Pork. I lived the food much better then when I was in the Netherlands two years ago.  The giant picture of the Girl in Blue covering one of the walls in the Cage was a little strange in the decor department,It is like she is staring at you as you eat.  Tomorrow I have to teach a class, and I might get to see a little more of Denmark tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

