Gun of the Week #18: Custom Built Ar-15

1

My custom Ar-15


Freddy’s Note:
Every week I feature a gun from my collection. This week it is a custom built Ar-15 that was built for me by my son.  It looks like one of the SIg Patrol Models but that is because it has the same Magpul hardware.  My son wanted to a built a AR-15 a few years ago and he ended up building a nice one for himself.  I liked it and asked him to build me one.  Unfortuately this was around the time of the Sandy Hook shooting and Ar-15’s and parts for AR-15 disappeared. It took a few months to get all the parts, but he ended up building me my favorite Ar-15 out of the 3 that we own.  It is extremely accurate at 25 to 100 yards. Now that I am wearing glasses all the time, now I will try and shoot it at further distances.  Had to recently accept the fact that I needed eyeglasses for all the time use. I should be able to now see what I am shooting at much better.  You can see all the previous gun of the week posts here.

I have got questions over the parts used in the build.
Here is the list:

  • Ar-Stoner Bolt Assemby
  • DPMS Forward Assist Assemby
  • Windham Weaponry Barrel and Gas Block Assembly
  • Spikes Lower Parts Kit and Buffer Parts
  • Ar-57 Lower Stripped Lower Receiver
  • AO Precision Stripped Upper Receiver
  • All Hardware is Magpul Flat Dark Earth

I sourced the parts that were available at the time.  Since all Ar-15 parts were impossible to get, I used whatever I could find. Since the picture was taken, I have acquired several MagPul Flat Dark Earth Magazines matching the hardware. You can’t seen it from this picture, but the dusk cover has the Join or Die Snake Logo and Words on it.

wall

Ar-15 On display in my gun room

The AR-15 is a lightweight, 5.56 mm/.223-caliber, magazine-fed, air cooled rifle with a rotating-lock bolt, actuated by direct impingement gas operation or long/short stroke piston operation. It has been produced in many different versions, including numerous semi-automatic and selective fire variants. It is manufactured with extensive use of aluminum alloys and synthetic materials.

The AR-15 was first built by ArmaLite as a small arms rifle for the United States armed forces. Because of financial problems, ArmaLite sold the AR-15 design to Colt. After modifications (most notably the relocation of the charging handle from under the carrying handle like the AR-10 to the rear of the receiver), the new redesigned rifle was subsequently adopted as the M16 rifle.  Colt then started selling the semi-automatic version of the M16 rifle as the Colt AR-15 for civilian sales in 1963 and the term has been used to refer to semiautomatic-only versions of the rifle since then.Although the name “AR-15” remains a Colt registered trademark, variants of the firearm are independently made, modified and sold under various names by multiple manufacturers.

2 thoughts on “Gun of the Week #18: Custom Built Ar-15

Leave a Reply

