GoodBye Florida

Image

I have been in Florida 3.5 weeks out of the last month. 4 Different cities working and or attending an aviation festival.

Today I get to go back home to New Hampshire. I have gone home for a few days during last month. But most of the time, I have been in Jacksonville, Orlando, Lakeland or Tampa.  Today is the last day I am a contractor.  I start a new full time job on Monday. Doing the same exact thing I do now. Except I am an employee for a different company.

People think It is great to work for yourself.  It’s not.  Here’s an example. June 2013 I was scheduled to work 22 days.  I get paid by the day.  June 1, a large customer cancels three weeks of work at the last minute for the company I contracted to.  I ended up working 6 days out of 22.  I actually turned down work that month because I thought I was fully booked.  There was no way to budget when you pay can vary from 3 days to 22 days in a month.  You just always have keep money in the bank in case, there are cancellations.

Also, I have had no sick days in 4 years.  Now I have been sick. Hell, I have been really sick for the last 2 weeks. I have not missed a day of work in 4 years. I couldn’t afford to.  Vacations happened at the last minute when work was canceled or around Christmas or July 4 week.

Next week I start a new job and the first week I am working out of my house. Which means I am being paid for doing nothing.  This is the first time in 4 years, that I have not been upset when I was not working. If I was not working, I was not getting paid. Next week will be a good week.

One thought on “GoodBye Florida

Leave a Reply

